After being defeated by New Zealand, Sri Lanka is no longer able to qualify for the World Cup automatically

After losing to New Zealand by six wickets in Hamilton, Sri Lanka will not be able to qualify automatically for October’s 50-over World Cup and will have to go through a qualifying stage.

The 1996 champions, who have appeared in every 50-over World Cup, were bowled out for 157 after choosing to bat, while New Zealand reached their target with Will Young’s unbeaten 86 and Henry Nicholls’ 40 not out.

Matt Henry took 3-14 as Sri Lanka slumped to 18-3, with all-rounder Daryl Mitchell and fast bowler Henry Shipley both claiming 3-32.

The win sees New Zealand take the three-match series 2-0 after a 198-run win in the first game, followed by a washout in the second.

The International Cricket Council’s World Cup Super League table sees West Indies in the eighth and final World Cup qualifying spot, but South Africa and Ireland could overtake them.

South Africa face Netherlands later on Friday and on Sunday, and a win in at least one of the games and avoiding defeat in the other would move them up to eighth. The World Cup qualifying tournament takes place in Zimbabwe between 18 June and 9 July, with two sides qualifying for the World Cup in India.

Sri Lanka will be joined by Netherlands, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Oman, and Scotland, while two of West Indies, South Africa, and Ireland will also be in the qualifiers, along with two other sides who are already competing in a qualifying tournament.